Falls on the Colorado Museum Heralds Marble Falls History
The Falls on the Colorado Museum celebrates the rich history of Marble Falls in a beautiful 110-year-old red-roof granite building.
Built in 1908, the Old Granite School at 2001 Broadway housed classrooms until 1987. It was mostly converted to administrative offices in 1982. It is now home to The Falls on the Colorado Museum, still surrounded by the joyful noise of elementary students on the adjacent campus.
The quaint museum archives and preserves photos, books, audio, art, official documents, and other media that provide a roadmap for “The Blind Man’s Town,” also known as Marble Falls.
The museum features several collections and displays, including:
- prehistoric bones and fossils;
- geological displays showcasing the Hill Country’s complex 1.3 billion-year-old past;
- items from early Marble Falls Mayor "Birdie" Harwood, the nation’s first female mayor;
- a pre-electricity exhibit that transports visitors back in time;
- Native American history, tools, and artifacts;
- and Rockie, the remains of a 700-year-old bison.
Historical signposts of the Colorado River basin are presented in changing exhibits, preserving the history and heritage of Marble Falls as well as protecting the artifacts and relics from the early days of settlement.
The museum is open 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Thursday-Saturday.
Because the museum is on the campus of Marble Falls Elementary School, visitors need to bring photo identification during school days before 3:30 p.m.
Visit fallsmuseum.org or call (830) 798-2157 for more information.
Editors Daniel Clifton and Suzanne Freeman contributed to this article.
Find more articles like this in See